Inspiring talks

Plenary speakers

Prof. dr. Jean-Marie Tarascon
Prof. dr. Jean-Marie TarasconCollège de France, Paris, France
Jean-Marie Tarascon is a Professor at the College de France, holding the chair “Chemistry of solids – Energy". Much of his early career was spent in the United States where he developed (1994) the plastic Li-ion technology. Back to France in 1995, he created the European network of excellence ALISTORE-ERI of which he was head until 2010 when he took over the direction of the new Laboratoire d'excellence “STORE-EX”. In 2011 he became in charge of the French network on electrochemical energy storage (RS2E). His research focuses on the synthesis, characterization, and determination of structure/property relationships of electronic, superconductor and rechargeable battery materials for solid state electronic devices. Presently his activities are more devoted to Li-ion, Na-ion batteries and other chemistries with emphasis on developing new eco-efficient synthesis processes and developing novel reactivity concepts. He is the author of more than 600 scientific papers and obtained about 80 patents. During his life, he received many honours. He was nominated to the Académie des Sciences in 2005, and was the University of Picardie Jules Verne's gold medalist in 2008. He won the ENI ‘Protection of the Environment award’ in 2011, was honoured by the New Jersey Inventors Hall of Fame in 2002, and received in 2015 the Royal Society of Chemistry's Centenary Prize. In 2016, Hasselt University granted him the title 'Doctor Honoris Causa'.
Prof. dr. Barbara Malic
Prof. dr. Barbara MalicJožef Stefan Institute, Ljubljana, Slovenia
Prof. dr. Barbara Malič is Head of Electronic Ceramics Department at Jožef Stefan Institute, Ljubljana, Slovenia, and Professor of Chemistry of Materials at Jožef Stefan International Postgraduate School. She obtained a PhD in Chemistry and Chemical Technology in the University of Ljubljana. She was a postdoc at EPFL and an Adjunct Professor at the Shizuoka university in Hamamatsu, Japan. In 2013, she became the ehad of the Electronic Ceramics Department at Jožef Stefan Institute in Ljulblana. She is an expert in the synthesis and processing of electroceramics, including lead-based and lead free ferroelectric and piezoelectric ceramics and thin films, electrocaloric materials, tunable ferroelectric thin films for microwave applications, and patterning of solution derived materials for transparent electronics. She is a (co-)author of more than 200 papers, 10 book-chapters and 4 Slovenian patents. She is the recipient of Zois recognition for achievements in research of ferroelectric ceramics and films (2010). She has been active in many European research Consortia and numerous bilateral and national research projects. She is member of many international scientific organisations and takes part in the Physical and Nanosciences Domain Committee of COST ‘Materials’, in the Ferroelectrics Committee IEEE UFFC and she is the Slovenian delegate to the Division on Solid State and Materials Chemistry of the European Association for Chemical and Molecular Sciences and a member of the Council for technical Sciences of the Slovenian Research Agency.
Prof. dr. Jacob Jones
Prof. dr. Jacob JonesNorth Carolina State University, USA
Jacob L. Jones is a Professor of Materials Science and Engineering and University Faculty Scholar at North Carolina State University (NC State), Director of the Analytical Instrumentation Facility, and Director and Principal Investigator of the Research Triangle Nanotechnology Network. Jones’ research interests involve developing structure-property-processing relationships in emerging functional materials, primarily through the use of advanced X-ray and neutron scattering tools. He has published over 190 papers and delivered over 100 invited lectures on these topics since 2004. Jones is a Fellow of the American Ceramic Society and has received numerous awards for his research and education activities, including an NSF CAREER award (2007), a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (2009), the IEEE UFFC Ferroelectrics Young Investigator Award (2011), Edward C. Henry “Best Paper” awards in 2010 and 2012 from the Electronics Division of the American Ceramic Society, and several advising awards from the University of Florida and NC State. He currently serves as Vice President for Ferroelectrics in the IEEE UFFC Society. Jones is known for promoting international science and engineering initiatives. He has been Principal Investigator on three NSF awards to provide international research experiences to U.S. students at foreign research laboratories. Using these programs, Jones has enabled over 50 U.S. students to obtain international research experiences overseas and has hosted a multitude of foreign students at U.S. institutions. Jones received his BS and MS degrees in Mechanical Engineering and a Ph.D. in Materials Engineering from Purdue University. He then completed an international postdoctoral fellowship sponsored by the National Science Foundation jointly at the University of New South Wales in Sydney, Australia and Iowa State University.

Key Experts

Confirmed Invited Speakers

  • Federico Bella (Politecnico di Torino, Italy)
  • Iñigo Bretos (Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid, CSIC, Spain)
  • Dragan Damjanovic (EPFL Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Marco Deluca (Materials Center Leoben Forschung GmbH, Austria)
  • Catherine Elissalde (University of Bordeaux, ICMCB Laboratory, CNRS, France)
  • Jose Fernandez (Instituto de Ceramica y Vidrio, CSIC, Spain) 
  • John Irvine (University of St. Andrews, UK)
  • Andreas Klein (Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany)
  • Jorij Koruza (Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany)
  • Anna Llordes (CIC Energigune, Spain)
  • Vera Meynen (University of Antwerp, Belgium)
  • Liliana Mitoseriu (Alexandru Ioan Cuza University, Romania)
  • Clive Randall (Penn State University, USA)
  • Kristiaan Temst (KU Leuven, Belgium)
  • André ten Elshof (University of Twente, The Netherlands)
  • Tadej Rojac (Institute Jožef Stefan, Slovenia)
© Copyright 2018 Electroceramics XVI. All Rights Reserved.